Wood Fired Meals


IMG_0443 I have not had much time lately to update this blog.  I have been extremely busy with my sons graduation, the end of the school year, work, sporting events and I have also been busy planting the new garden. However, I have been able to take the last few weeks to get to know my wood fired oven better.  It is not as easy as lighting the wood and then cooking!  The temperatures in this oven are different in every location.  The oven dome can be 1300 degrees and the floor only 650 degrees.   It is challenging to learn how the oven performs but it is definitely worth the effort.

I have now made several meals in the oven.  I have roasted chicken, rib eye steak, flap steak (Hanger), pork chops, vegetables and I have baked pizzas and cinnamon rolls.  Every one of these dishes had a wonderful flavor that only can come from cooking in a wood fire.

People ask me why I don’t just use a regular stove since that is the quickest and most modern way to cook.  My answer is – the modern stove does not compare to the wood fired oven.  I do not think that our electric and gas powered ovens of today are an advancement over the traditional ways to cook.  They are definitely technologically advanced but when it comes to taste, they are light years behind. The following are some of the pictures of the food I have cooked in the oven and a couple pictures of the finished garden.

n. photo 4photo 3 (1)photo 2 (2)photo 4 (1)photo 5    IMG_0422IMG_0402IMG_0426photo 2 (3)      IMG_0436 IMG_0443  photo 1 (2) SteakIMG_0398

One thought on “Wood Fired Meals

  1. Its great to see some of the traditional ways of cooking making a gradual comeback. The same thing is happening here in Australia where people are spending more time in outdoor entertaining and wood fired ovens are becoming more and more popular.

    These meals you have been cooking are inspiring and really dio bring back memories of similar dishes. Looking forward to seeing more!!

Leave a comment